Skip to content

Almost spring!

March 18, 2011

Ooops…It’s been a long time since we posted…I got sick, then I had to travel for work, so I got sicker, and then I had to crawl out from under the mountain of undone stuff…But life in the garden goes on.

Ok, here’s the update: The peas are up and about two inches high. The first batch Paul planted in January didn’t appear to amount to much. These are from the second batch in mid-February. Paul planted the rest of the seeds out in the open last weekend.

Many things that were planted in the fall and just kind of sat around not amounting to much all winter are now taking off: kale, broccoli, spinach, and arugula – which we had big heaping handfuls of with gnocchi and garlic a couple of nights ago. Yum!

The garlic is also up. The shallots were a bit slower and I was afraid they were going to rot with all our wet, but they seem to be coming up as well now. And all through the cold frames there are tiny seedlings from seeds I stuck in empty spots in January. I didn’t write any of them down, so I’m waiting to see what they are when they get bigger. But my guess is: mustard, spinach, lettuce, and more arugula. So we’ve got some spring green eating to do.

Happy growing season!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

